SF Symphony Chamber Music Series: Violins of Hope

Event Date: 2/23/2020 2:00 PM

Chamber Music Series: Violins of Hope—Music of Klein, Krása, & Brahms 

Featuring instruments from the Violins of Hope collection, a priceless group of beautiful string instruments that were played by European Jews during the Holocaust, experience a profound San Francisco Symphony chamber program that celebrates the power of the human spirit. Written while imprisoned in the Terezín concentration camp, Hans Krása’s Tanz and Passacaglia and Fugue are each poignant sound worlds that gradually build to climactic heights of unbridled emotion. Gideon Klein—also imprisoned at Terezín—completed his String Trio just ten days before being deported to Auschwitz. Though each perished, their beautiful music is now immortal testaments of their stories, each defying its dark origins with an enduring message of hope and resilience. 

More information and tickets at: https://www.sfsymphony.org/Buy-Tickets/2019-20/Chamber-Music-2-23.aspx


Arnold: Suite Bourgeoise 
Klein: String Trio 
Krása: Passacaglia and Fugue 
Krása: Tanz
Brahms; Horn Trio in E-flat major